In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The statement asserts that, in any field, power should be changed after five years. That idea may seem reasonable but in deeper analysis, there are situations, where changing power that frequently, can thwart development. So, I agree with the statement with some qualifications.

As we human always wish to have power and we love to exercise our superiority over others, and that frequently happens when we are in a leadership position for a long time. When a person is in superior power for a long time, there is a greater possibility that an autocrat is gradually building up inside him. That type of person is contemptuous to other's ideas and focuses to maintain his supremacy over others. Development comes to a standstill and the subordinated become demotivated because of unchanged hierarchy. In result, that type of people turn out to be the destructive force for the organization sometimes and that is why it is necessary for them to step down for the shake of the country, organization . For example, if Hitler had been abdicated from his power after five years, than the mass destruction in WWII would not have occurred.

On the other hand, there are exceptions, a fact can not be the standard. There are a lot of examples, where the leader changed the whole scenario by his hard work, dedication, serving the nation/organization for a long time. If we consider the example of Steve Jobs, founder of Apple, who brought his company to a standard which everyone envies, only by his years of work, passion and imagination. Moreover, frequent change in leadership, often hampers the total development. The new leader needs to start from the beginning in most of the time because of his disparity in view from the previous leader. Again, always there are some people, who want to turn the system obsolete by infusing confusion and hostility in the organization. That is why, their efforts need to be subverted, pave the way for the holistic development, which can be achieved through a leader, who is experienced enough and unwavering in his focus.

So, to conclude, it is evident that, it is too extreme to say that all the leaders should step down in every five years. Leaders should be given sufficient time to prove their efficacy, if they prove to be inefficient, they should be abdicated. Whereas, if they can bring out something good , they should be given enough time to substantiate that development.