In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

As a great scientist once said,” I’m not greater than others ,I’m just standing on the shoulder of the giant people.” It seems quite plausible to make the statement that only by studying the past achievements within one field could one make a significant contributions in that field. Thus, I agree much with the claim, despite that it needs to be amended in special cases.

It is natural for a tyro in a field to get familiar with past achievements done by precedent scientists before starting his own research. In natural science area, for example, if the modern physicians do not know about the Einstein’s theories, they could not make the great discovery of gravitational waves, which was predicated by the genius a century ago. Most great scientists,such as Fleming,Maxwell, Newton, has already learned a lot about the field they were interested in before they really entered into it. It is the same in social science and art literature areas. Many economic theories derive from the fundamental principles established by Adam Smith, and modern sociological analysis are often based on the social conflict view by Marx or social functionalism perspective by other sociologists. When it comes to this area, they could not ignore the influence of Marx Weber neither. Historians usually base their remarks on the views of precedent people, as well as the literature critics. From so many cases, we could easily figure out that without a comprehensive master of the past achievements in this area, we could hardly make new discovery or greater achievement.

As college students, the statement has a more profound educational meaning to us. When we write essays, first we should review the related literature on this theme and make a summary of them. Only after rounded examination are we able to find the defects or deficiencies of them, then we could come to a conclusion and make our researches. If we do not complete this essential step, rushing to our own theory or experiment at the beginning, we would get little support for our findings and stop at the superficial meanings of them. For example, when writing on a paper on the theme of subjective well-being, the student must begin by reading lots of essays by precedent researchers and know more about the field, such as Easterlin’s paradox and other practical surveys on national happiness. He should command a basic knowledge about the phenomena, causes and effects of the newly founded theory. Otherwise, he is not likely to write a paper of high quality.

However, getting familiar with past achievements does not mean that we should only obey the rules founded by former people and do not violate a little. Most great achievements come from challenges to old theories. After examining many times on the classic physical system established by Newton, Einstein found that it could not explain situations when objects move in high speed, and thus he established his theory of relativity at last, which have influenced generations of scientists. Therefore, it is not only we should learn about the past knowledge about the field, but keep a critical mind and raise our own questions that pushes forward people’s understanding of that field.

After all, it is substantial that we need know past achievements of the field we study in if we want to come up with our own ideas, but critical views and innovative spirits are also needed in order to achieve the final success.