In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

In any field knowing the past achievements would be helpful to move a step ahead for further progress in the future. The earlier inventions or discoveries were made by much thought and with much comprehensive study. These paved the way for the further improvements in the respective fields. Without knowing the basic functioning or understanding, no success follows with us in any field. Earlier, mode of communication was only by letters, later by wired telephonic conversations and finally the mobiles. The invention of mobile phones would not have been possible without the basic telephone invention.

Firstly, for significant contribution to any field understanding of the past achievements is vital. They let us know the hindrances caused and the failures they faced while coming to a conclusion. It helps to save us the time and try for a novel thought which might do miracles, thus contributing to the field of study. For instance, Thomas Alva Edision doesn’t invent bulb, but also found the no. of ways in which the bulb cannot be formed. This contributed for further invention, making use of past results, of tube lights which we use daily.

In addition to, knowing of past achievements may help to motivate us to make coherent study in the field. For any field of study, historical developments are more important as they depict the strenuous work involved in creating the so called field of study. To succeed in any field and know your problem statement in any field motivation is necessary. It can be obtained by thorough understanding of the past inferences.

Finally, from the above statements we can conclude that the thorough knowledge of the previous outcomes would ameliorate the present understanding in particular field of study. Significant contribution to the field of study may be achieved by knowledge of past achievements as they also reflect on the difficulties faced during the progress.