In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Motivation is necessary for achieving the desired goal in difficult times. Without motivation negative results might surface. But a significant contribution doesn't need motivation in order to be achieved. It is ineluctable and can be achieved by someone who is well determined to do so. Therefore, it is very much inappropriate to say that significant contribution cannot be done without first being influenced by achievements.

The people who first achieved something did not have any motivation or achievement to look up to. It was achieved out of curiosity, necessity, determination etc. The people who first contributed are exalted for apposite reason. They had courage, determination and temerity to achieve something. Consider the example of scientist Galileo. He was ostracized by the church for proving them wrong. But his determination and curiosity was the reason he never gave up. As a result, his beliefs are accepted worldwide today. There was no past achievement to look up-to that time.

Also exemplifying contributions in other fields like politics. Leaders like Nelson Mandela fought against injustice caused to Africans. The necessity to overthrow various unscrupulous practices gave rise to the inevitable actions of African people. Nelson mandela never asked for any past achievement in this unmoral issue. If he would have waited for someone else to do something, Nelson Mandela wouldn't had been the man we know today. As a result he is very much praised and his morals are giving rise to revolutionary movements even today.

Moreover an artist who created something unique and redoubtable never imitates anyone, at least before the art of duplicity became widely known. The artist original creation is always valued for. Considering the example of William Shakespeare, the poems and plays written by Sir William Shakespeare are still extant throughout the world. The imitations are in various forms such as plays, computer games, movies, books, etc. Shakespeare didn't have anyone to imitate. It was the granted gift that allowed him to contribute so much. As a result he is considered a legend throughout the world.

Nonetheless, it is true that motivation is needed for many to carry on the work. Everyone wants them to be motivated by someone. A person carrying out some difficult task gets a positive energy if he is motivated by the manger. Suppose a worker having difficulty in coping up with other teammates, a motivation in this case plays a positive role. However, it is only to produce the expected results. The best result are although set by few are self motivated to achieve something.

Hence, in conclusion it is very wrong to say that past achievements are necessary for producing the best results or contributing in the best way. The people who do so are just malingerer and can only blame others for their failure.