In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

All fields of study have a unique history associated with them which tells the story of how things came about to the way they are today. Be it medicine or technology, there is a long history of events that mark the evolution of the field: it has a origin follwed by a long period of various _ that ultimately lead to where we stand today. It is imperative that when a newbie is starting his/her career in a particular field of study, that he/she is aware of this story in order to appreciate all the hard work and effort that has gone into achieving the tools and knowledge that we have today so that he/she can better contribute to the field as all new developments in any field are made on the back of these existing knowledge.

One cannot hope to have a complete and profound understanding of a field until he understand the history of that field. For example, you could be a software developer using the latest programming language, which may not be that closely related to earlier programming languages or techniques, and yet if have not studied the earliest forms of programming techniques, your fundamental understanding of the whole process will be one that is flawed or at least incomplete. A holistic study of all the different forces, events, achievements, successes and failures that happened in the past allows us to differentiate between a right way and a wrong way in our enterprise.

Having knowledge of this past history also allows us to continue the tradition of passing down knowledge from one generation of professionals to the next as it is of utmost importance that we preserve this knowledge not just in dusty books in libraries but also in our minds. Without this knowledge, if the chain is broken once, the whole endeavor would be futile.

Of course, as important as it is to preserve this knowledge of the past, it is not a mandatory requirement for every single person who has chosen to study a particular field. If you are just a hobbyist, delving into the field out of curiosity rather than to take it up professionally, then it may not always be a good idea to draw yourself into the long and boring details. But if you serious about making a contribution to the field, you should always make it a priority to understand the history early on in your career.