In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Pursuing an endeavor demands great passion and enthusiasm. Mere attempt takes you one step closer towards success, but it takes a lot more to actually achieve it. As per human nature, we don't even put faith in a person unless we know his background information. Likewise, before attempting to enter a field its always better to do some background digging and study its foundation and basics. In the process, one comes across the various advancements and achievements that has happened in the field. For example, a cricket enthusiast would surely go through the profile and achievements of Sachin Tendulkar before starting his career as a cricketer. These past achievements prove to be helpful in many ways such as they provide inspiration , provides vast knowledge of the field, ways and methods to achieve success and even boosting the passion to take these achievements to a level higher or come up with new ones.

Though the influence of these achievements prove to be beneficial in many ways, but it is not the sole factor that engenders significant contribution in that field. Basics are the building blocks of anything. If one is clear and strong in his basics in a particular field then even when there is no backing of any influential past achievement to bolster his efforts, he can surely make significant contribution purely on the basis of his strong foundation, enthusiasm and rigorous efforts. Taking about Wright brothers, they were able to make a significant contribution in the field of aerospace by igniting the idea of flying machine as well as bringing it to reality by invention of the first successful flying aircraft. They had no previous achievements or success stories to influence them in their endeavor. Passion, ideas , basic knowledge and continual efforts were sufficient to make it possible for them to write their own first of its kind success story. Mere ideas have given birth to so many inventions like electricity, telephone, transport. If we talk about the past experiences then is it that success is definitely guaranteed if one is aware of all the past achievements in his field of endeavor? The answer is no. Thus, the claim that it is impossible to contribute significantly without being influenced by past achievements is slightly over the top.

Influence of past achievements would surely provide a guidance to proceed in a certain direction as well as inspiration but a person backed by strong foundation of basic knowledge, enthusiasm and creative thinking can undoubtedly contribute in his field of endeavor in a significant way