In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

An unavoidable question facing people from all fields is that how they treat the past achievements within that field. In some fields, people may find that the methods or experience they inherit from their predecessors have no long been been able to tackle the new situations they are dealing now. However, in other fields, some people are enjoying concluding and analysising the vast amount of past achievements that underlie the whole field, taking advantage of the derivative wisdom and getting inspiration.

As we entered elementary schools, or even ealier, we started our journey to the palace of knowledge, founded by hundreds of thousands of blocks of past achievements. Not only our knowledge, but also our attitudes towords the world and the ways we explore truths are influenced by these basic blocks. Although some of them may not be truth and even be ouverturned by us in someday, they still inspire us and give us a direction to work on. Hipposus, whose body was thrown into the sea later, discovered the irrational number, dropping a big boom to the field of mathematics. Even if he challanged the creed of Pythagoras, his discovery came from the Pythagorean Theorem. What this story tells us is that, although it may sounds contradictory, the prerequisite of making breakthrough is that we deeply understand the questions as well as its background, that's what we call, "past achievement".

For another thing, as Issaac Newton said, "If I have seen further, is it by standing on the shoulders of giants ". If truth only can been seen from the top of the mountain, then the past achievements is the steps under our feet. In 17th century, Decare invented analytic geomotry, introducing algebra to geometry. However, this creation did not come from nowhere. What Decare did was climbing the mountain and placing his amazing stepping-stones alone the stairs built by Euclid and his students.

Neverthless, we should always treat these experience and achievements critically instead of worship them blindly. In many fields, like computer science and internet, technology and demands are changing every day. In fields like this, what we should learn from the past is not the technology poeple used but the ways how they think. Only when we treat the past achievements critically can we not be fettered.