In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement

We have long held this belief that interests of a person are influenced by his fellow peers and the company he has. Its not true because interests are innate and are not influenced. So, it is not true that to make a significant contribution in the field, one must be influenced by the past achievements within that field.

There were two brothers who were fascinated by the ability of birds to fly and since they had the curiosity, tenacity and perseverance to make it happen so they did. These were all innate characteristics and they were not influenced by anyone in that field since there were no achievements in that field. And now everyone in the world knows them as Wright Brothers.

There are always some highly intellectual persons who are crazy in their own sort of way and are passionate about their dreams and these are the ones who make a significant contribution in their respective fields. Yes, they do influence generations to come and many among those who opt that field are influenced by them but it certainly is possible that significant contribution can be done without being influenced by past achievements within that field.

All the greats in the history were influenced by their passion not by the achievements in their field like Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Thomas Edison, Newton and they inspire many to come. For example. many who were influenced by the successful experiement of Wright Brothers started to demystefy the ability of birds to fly and as a result we now have the huge planes we travel on. So, its the passion of person that results in significant contribution in his respective field.