Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

Popular opinion is crucial for a leader’s decision because the leader needs to know concerns and requirements of his team as much as possible. However, I believe that leaders should not be quickly and easily influenced by those opinions according to the reasons provided in the following essay.

First, many important actions need time to consider carefully before making decision. The popular opinion may come from the short-term demand, which is not considered the long-term consequences, so it can have negative effects in the long term. For example, if an industrial area needs more electric power to increase the production capacity, the leader who is easily influenced by the popular opinion may suddenly decide to build a new power plant to serve the demand of the area. The industry may be satisfied with this quick action but, in the long term, the power plant will generate a lot of pollution. The environment will be totally damaged and no one want to live in that area anymore. Therefore, this leader will not accomplish in the development of this area.

Second, large projects require long time to finish and, if leaders frequently change their minds, these projects will never be finished. For instance, it may take five to ten years to plan and construct a new airport and, during that time, many people may not want to wait such a long time and propose the government to do other short-term projects. The leader who is quickly influenced by the change in opinions will consider to halt the airport construction and allocate the budget to other projects to satisfy their people. Consequently, the country will lost a lot of money and time in the unfinished project without any return. The leader who continues the large projects to be finished one by one will finally be able to show their people final results of all accomplished projects.

Some may argue that leaders should follow all requirements of their people, so the leader’s action should be changed when the public opinion change. This is not true because some requirements of people may not be suitable for the country. Leaders who have a lot of experts in their team have a responsibility to consider each requirement carefully before selecting the most suitable things to their people.

All in all, leader who want to accomplish in their tasks should not quickly and easily influenced by popular opinions. They should spend enough time to consider all causes and effects before taking the most suitable choice.