Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

The popular opinions are crucial to the leaders’ decisions because leaders need to know all requirements and concerns from their people. However, the popular opinions usually change all the time and successful leaders should not quickly and easily change their minds according to regular shifts in popular opinion. I will describe the reasons for this argument in the following essay.

First, unlike the frequent change in popular opinion, the great projects need constant directions for a long period to succeed. For example, building a dam needs five to ten years for planning and construction. Although, the project is supported by the majority of people in the area at the beginning to provide water for the agriculture, some people may later want their government to stop the project to preserve the forest area instead. If the leader easily follows the change in people’s opinion and stops the project, the country will lose a lot of money and time that have been spent for this project in the past without any return. The great leader should do his best in making the decision at the first time and believe in that decision. Otherwise, the great projects will never be finished and there will be no concrete benefit to people.

Second, popular opinions are not always right. Most people do not have ability to think thoroughly in every idea. Consequently, they sometimes change their opinions without any reasonable cause. People may propose the government to immediately reduce the tax in the period that the country’s economy goes down and people lose their incomes. In this circumstance, if the leader does not think carefully and reduces the tax, the country may not have enough budget for the economic stimulation and the situation can be getting worse. The successful leader should think about all the effects form the tax reduction and maintain the proper tax rate in order to solve the country’s crisis.

Although some people may argue that leaders should listen to the change in popular opinions. This may be true but it is not necessary that leaders have to follow all those opinion. The leaders have to consider all the possible effects that could happen from the decision. They can also gather the opinion from many specialists in their team in order to provide the best things to the country. The leaders should reject some popular opinions if they can prove that the opinions will not benefit the country in a long term.

All in all, I strongly believe that the leaders who want to accomplish in their tasks should not be easily and quickly influenced by the shifts in popular opinions. They should have a constant direction as long as they have enough supported reasons.