Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leaders are the torch bearers of the society. Their actions have a direct impact on people. Leaders often find themselves in a quandary, whether to go with the general opinion or follow their self beliefs. It is sensible enough to assert, that a leader should pay heed to the public demands in order to accomplish his professional goals. However, it is equally important to stick to one's own ideas or principles in many situations. Unlike a leader, common people might not have a broader perspective to look things at.

Mahatma Gandhi is a fine example to counteract the author's statement. Mr. Gandhi was quite clear in his thoughts and he had an unshakable faith in this ideology. Initially, he was widely criticized for employing non violent ways to fight against the British rule and set India free from the clutches of slavery. He sternly condemned violent ways, which most of the people resorted to in the freedom struggle. Over a period of time, he became successful in changing the mindset of common public, and with the help of non violence as well as non co-operation brought an end to the 200 year old British era in India.

Coming to the world of technology, Steve Jobs is a classic example of the successful leaders who went against the general opinion and proved his mettle. Mr Jobs was a man of his own ideas. He did not compromise on his beliefs, while contributing to the development of Macintosh computers. Other employees as well as the stake holders were skeptical about his approach, but it worked wonders for Apple and helped the company gain world wide status.

Conversely, leaders should not display rigidity without considering the pros and cons of the public opinion. Let me exemplify this point by taking the topic of gay marriages in America. Until 2015, there was no movement to legalize same sex unions. Considering a rising demand to protect the rights of homosexuals, Mr Obama paused and revisited the issue. He was resilient enough to understand the concerns of people, and finally gay marriages got legalized.

To recapitulate, it is a leader's responsibility to work for the betterment of the people. If a leader thinks that the situation does not ask for the comprise of his ideas, he should not budge. At the same time, a leader should deeply analyze what public wants, and must work diligently to fulfill the genuine requirements.