Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In various contexts, leaders find themselves in a situation that compels them to compare their own opinion with popular one. Some argue for the importance of strict adherence to one’s own position while others claim that leaders benefit from listening to popular opinion as a means to shape their path to accomplishment. This is clearly a controversial and subjective topic in nature, but a quick reflection on Bernie Sanders from the political world coupled with Steve Jobs in the context of the business sector reveals that successful leaders have a certain uncompromising attitude when it comes to their own opinions.

The primary example that lends support to the presented statement is Bernie Sanders, an Independent presidential candidate in the US. Known for his tenacious principle to lessen the tremendous influence that corporate donors have on US elections, he has successfully revolutionized the political sphere, thereby invigorating young voters who would not have participated in politics otherwise. For instance, by adamantly refusing to accept corporate donations and instead solely relying on smaller-scale donations from regular citizens, he sent a signal to the public that democratic elections occur at the grass-roots level, not from the top down. Through this untraditional way of fundraising that he adhered to, he managed to raise a record-breaking level of money to support his campaign. Although he did not manage to win the primaries, it is fair to argue that his adherence to change the political sphere awash in corporate money is the reason why he energized the young electorate. In view of this case, it would be reasonable to argue that a leader should maintain his or her position even in the face of remarkable odds.

In addition to the aforementioned example from politics, Steve Jobs from the business world serves as evidence in support of the statement. Praised as one of the most successful CEOs in the technology sector, Steve Jobs’ uncompromising belief in product design appears to be the very driver that earned Apple its world-wide status. Particularly, as a means to compete with Microsoft, he contributed to the invention of the Macintosh computer whose exterior design as well as interface significantly differed from that of the existing products. Although his employees as well as executives were skeptical of this unorthodox way, Steve Jobs decided to stick to his own business acumen and managed to produce one of the most popular products in the industry today. In light of this success, it stands to reason that the ability to maintain a stance regardless popular opinion opposed to it can result in great accomplishment.

Yet, while the cases of Bernie Sanders and Steve Jobs exemplify the importance of adherence to one’s own opinion, we cannot go as far to argue that leaders should completely discount popular opinion. Rather, it would be wise to have an open-minded attitude to popular opinion and be able to rationally analyze it. For instance, if we revisit the history of gay marriage, it was in part the public opinion that led to the legalization of it in 2015. As the public opinion in support of it started to surge, it is said that Barack Obama paused to reconsider his position on this issue instead of dismissing it. While he was criticized for this “flip-flop,” this shows how important it can be to maintain a careful balance of sticking to one’s own belief and hearing the other side. As such, given the magnitude of the legalization of gay marriage, it is indeed important in certain cases to understand popular opinion as a litmus test of one’s own opinion.

In summary, while there are numerous arguments to be made for both sides, the cases of Bernie Sanders and Steve Jobs demonstrate that leaders benefit from having a solid stance on their own opinions. However, as evinced in the example of Barack Obama in the gay-marriage context, it could be wise to maintain open-mindedness towards popular opinion as it may inform one’s tenets.