Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

With the improvement and the advancement in our generation, how fortunate are we that we have the chance to get more knowledge and professional skills. Undoubtedly, some of us would become the leaders, and the other would need to follow the regulation. It’s true that the leader needs to listen the people’s voice and consider every possible policy which is good for the public. Sometimes, we may meet difficulty and the headman must decide immediately. However, I don’t totally agree that if the leader took the public advice quickly, the leader would have little accomplishment.

Admittedly, if the leader always changes his implementation when he gets the new popular opinion, we can’t see any achievement on him. For example, education is a contentious topic among people, government and experts. Because the world is changing all the time, the policy of education needs to have a faster pace to keep on it. However, we know that education is a long-term program, and we can’t see any different just in one or two years. What the students learn are the science, history and culture, and all of them need long time to cultivate. We have to be patient and wait for the ending result. It’s true that we can’t portend its consequence, however, we can confirm that it will fail if the leader easily sways by the popular views.

However, there would be specific situation that the leader needs the suggestions right away. For instance, when natural disaster occurs, the leader has to follow the public words, so the leader could give the proper and immediate help to the injuries. The leader should incorporate with people and foundations to resist the dangerous calamity.

Furthermore, popular opinion could give the leader hints and teach them how to work. We have to concede that all of us are not god, so we can’t prepare everything well all the time and so as the leader. Sometimes, he would be lost and can’t find the way. For instance, a technology company president exhausted his ideas and couldn’t invent any engaging products. What he need is to observe people and get some advices from them. The technology president has to design a fantastic device or solve the people’s problems effectively, so the public would buy his products. And time is changing, if the CEO did not follow the trend, he might lose the opportunity forever.

In conclusion, it is reasonable that the leader should take the public opinion to implement any programs or regulations, but the leaders have to have their own judgments and can’t revise their determination quickly. Without careful consideration, the leader would founder sooner or later.