Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Popular opinion have long been a significant influence on most people’s decision, however, people have also long discussed whether such influences are beneficial. Personally, I believe though people usually feel compelled to follow the popular opinion, a leader needs to learn to make his or her own decisions instead of being influenced by the popular opinion.

The greatest leaders of our time are more often than not mavericks. In fact, unconventional thinkings are some times considered the trademark of great personality and great leaderships. Steve Jobs, considered one of the greatest leader, entrepreneur and inventor of our time, is an absolute maverick, and is rarely affected by public opinion. The products he created are way ahead of his time, and are often met with criticism during its development and even initial release. For example, when he started iTunes, allowing users to buy digital version of their favorite songs, everyone thought the project is doomed because there is no way a payed service can beat free illegal music sharing services. However, to everyone’s surprise, iTune was wildly popular, accumulating over hundreds of thousands of uses on the first day, and eventually revolutionized the music industry. Had Steve Jobs been influenced by the popular opinion and killed iTunes, we would still be sharing music illegally online, or buying expansive CDs. A great many of ideas would be have been lost had people heed the popular voices and abandoned their so-called “crazy ideas”. Because great leaders need to think of ahead of their times, they should avoid, or at least mitigate the effects popular opinions had on their decisions.

Granted, there are times when public opinions are useful in decision making. Since most leaders’ decisions directly influence others or need their supports in execution, it’s crucial for leaders to take public opinions into consideration at times. If a team leader assigns his or her team an assignment that the team considers unnecessary, the team would not be devoted to the task and would not execute it to perfection. Or alternatively, if a CEO decides to re-organize the product line when the board is against, the changes most likely won’t be approved. Iconoclastic behavior lead can leads to failures as well as successes. Just as Steve Job’s unconventional thinking brought him great success, it also leads to his oust from Apple. Though public opinions should not be an important factor in decision making most of the time, there are occasions in which it need to be taken into account.

In conclusion, because great leaders are those who think ahead of their times, they need to learn to not be influenced by public opinion, but there are also times when public opinions need to be taken into account to ensure the success of the plan.