To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It seems like everyday a newspaper is published with a controversial headline regarding the United States' President Donald Trump. Whether it is a form of bias or not, it has certainly highlighted one theme: public officials must maintain the highest ethical and more standards. Elected politicians are the glue of their respective countries, and it is imperative that they lead without corruption or conflict.

To begin with, public officials are elected to positions based on a multitude of factors. Typically, it is a combination of previous experience, aspirations and morals. In such a role, one is bestowed influential power; it is imperative that public officials maintain high morality. Otherwise, they may abuse their power or disregard the needs of the very people who elected them. To illustrate, a recent Gallup poll was published citing new lows for President Trump's approval ratings within the USA. Participants were quoted saying that he made "empty promises" and did not fulfill the promises he made during his campaign. By acting immorally, ignoring the citizens of the US and being uncompromising, President Trump now has the lowest approval rating for a US President ever. His outlook for a reelection is bleak. Good leaders are compassionate and operate with ethics and morality.

Furthermore, politicians are granted exceptional power. In order to advance society, they need to operate within the confines of morality. Advanced society is built on the backbone of compassion and ethics. We risk digressing world progress by electing leaders who do not believe in ethics. For instance, Adolf Hitler was an amazing speaker and Germany elected him as their chancellor with open arms. His disposition against Jews and other races alike fueled a genocide that would shake the Earth. Killing millions of people, it is likely that the world lost brilliant scientists, doctors and musicians. Unfortunately, elected officials who do not believe in ethics or morals run extreme risks; it is pivotal that society elect leaders who understand the importance of such traits.

Alternatively, elected officials without ethics or morals may be strategic. War is a horrible thing and causes casualties. But for many countries, war is normal or necessary. It may be strategically advantageous having a leader without morals. He/she may be able to make strategic decisions unaffected by the strain of death. Nonetheless, war is increasingly rare. In an ideal world, there is no war and all leaders utilize morally motivated decision making.

In summary, public officials are expected to be leaders. Without ethics, these politicians may drive us into the dark ages. It is imperative we elect those who vow to progress society.