The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

The statement above asserts that it is from a passionate interest in commonplace things that best ideas can arise. I generally agree with such an assertion. A passionate interest is what an individual needed to be meticulous about the details of things in order to conceive best ideas from them, however, there is no necessity that best ideas arise from such an interest in commonplace things. "Let the importance lie in your look, not in the thing you are look at", Andre Gide.

To begin with, passionate interest is the essential part that makes individuals be enough curious about things to make best ideas out of them. Best ideas to emerge need raw materials, and the raw materials are information and concepts received from meticulous observation of things. While uninterested people are indifferent to details of things they do not like, individuals with passionate interest closely observe things or phenomena they are interested in and with receiving nuances in their details, these people create the best ideas from them. Consider James Watt. It was for centuries that people had been drinking hot beverages in kettles. James watt who was interested in the movement of a kettle's door, with observing such a phenomenon meticulously, he come to the idea of using the steam force in practical ways. The steam engines invented by James watt and human civilization dispersed in the long distances only with the help of James what and his curiosity and passionate interest in the details of such a simple thing, kettle's door movement.

However, there is no necessity that commonplace things trigger the best ideas. Many are those cutting Edge technological advancements that inspire people to create best ideas. It was with the advent of first space station that the idea of global positioning system (G.P.S) conceived by its inventors. With the availability of nanotechnology apparatus inventors were inspired to make nano-engineered materials. All these sources of inspiration cannot be named as commonplace things while they inspired conceiving the best ideas that has led to great contributions.

In short, In order to be inspired and make best ideas, the passionate interest is essentially needed, so that individuals become attentive enough to observe things meticulously and shape the best ideas out of them. However, the thing itself is not important whether to be commonplace or not.