The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

We are living in the world with state-of-the-art technologies under well-developed societies. This would have been inconceivable in the past and we also cannot imagine our future life. In the core of this development, there are a plethora of brilliant ideas that have fostered improvement. Myriads of our ancestors made arduous efforts on this, and the statement above can be regarded to be sound..

Before we delve into the statement, we need to set the range of “commonplace things.” Undoubtedly, it is impossible to find a thing that is commonplace to every person in the earth. because the modern society is composed with a lot of desperate cultures and people. In this line of thought, we need to set the range of commonplace things of one to be within one’s field of study or one’s daily life and social groups. Then, it is sound to say that great ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things in that passion is necessary to contrive a great idea and to be passionate, one should be familiar with the issue or problem.

Deep Learning can be the epitome of this. In the field of Computer Science, there have been thousands of scientists who made incessant efforts to make computers think and infer like human beings. Some of them became to think that neurons in our brain will let computers think like us, and this was the advent of machine learning and neural networks. After that moment, many scientists worked on algorithms to improve the method and made data sets to train computers. As a result, now, computers can distinguish cats from dogs and guess one’s age by themselves. Scientists who were passionate on artificial intelligence, which is a commonplace concept in Computer Science, generated a great idea and people around the world became to use those smart computers.

However, that is not to say that it is able to develop ideas only with a passionate interest in commonplace things. Even if one is zealous about a certain issue, it is impossible to develop a great idea without spending time and money on scrutinizing the problem. One should have perseverance. At the same time, creativity is not indispensable. One should balance between huge background knowledge that are already proved and original methods which have not be tried hitherto to make new ideas. Moreover, the society should be ready to accept and embrace the idea if it is worth keeping or developing further in that without people who are using the idea, it cannot be regarded as the best from the public.

In brief, undeniably, ideas can be generated from a passionate interest in commonplace things with some efforts to achieve and develop the idea and social atmosphere to accept and acknowledge the greatness of the idea.