The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To convince someone with a contradictory viewpoint does not guarantee that the argument will be tested best. The best test of any argument can be done by testing legitimacy of several facts on which it depends. In addition, any argument's acceptance ,when tested against opposite view point, will depend upon that persons knowledge and learning abilites. Therefore it cannot be inferred that when someone with contradictory theory is convinced the argument is successful.

To begin with, for any argument to be successful it needs to be based on vital information and reliable facts. These details serve as evident solid grounds for the argument to build up. Without these details the argument appears merely wishful thinking this renders any argument questionable. Wishful thinking can never succeed in convincing a considerable amount of contradictions. Although, pursuing an amenable opposition seems achievable, but it will not guarantee the completeness of argument.

Sometimes, it can be very easy to pursue an opposite minded person into accepting the reliability of facts and support the argument. But this does not give enough reliability to the argument itself. Brainstorming against contradictory views sounds like a good idea to find loopholes or gaps that might have insinuated into the argument. But it should not be the only way to assure the quality of argument.

However, with a community or a set of people who can be trusted with the completeness of their knowledge, one can say that most of the gaps in any argument can be covered. These people can be masters of their field and brainstorming with them could give reliable inputs for testing the argument's worthiness. In such situations only, one can tend to be sure that the best test for the idea has been carried out and now it can be presented further.

Conclusively, merely trying to convince a contradictory person will undermine the detailing of an argument and could convert into more of a persuaded discussion than open exchange of ideas, until and unless an analogy which provides equitable exchange of theories on both ends is carried out.