The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The Issue presents that the best test of an argument is the argument’s ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint. However, personally speaking, the convincing ability of the argument is just one aspect in which the its reliability cannot be testified. The best test of an argument demands the features as follows.

First of all, the convincing ability of the argument is necessary. In the argument, the arguer is expected to draw conclusion. To justify his/her conclusion, the sufficient evidence is supposed to provide in the argument, in which readers owning critical thinking can evaluate the correctness of argument. Someone with an opposing viewpoint can fairly regard the argument as an excellent argument if the assumption or conclusion is proved by warranted, specific evidence.

Nevertheless, the best test of an argument still needs extra methods to certificate. It is significant for a scientific argument that its result is repeatable; as for an educational argument the extra experiments are quite vital.

A scientific argument is required to include specific samples, detailed experiment setting, unambiguous process and fairly results. Such as an image enhancement method in computing programming, it must involve the representive sample pictures, image enhancement algorithm, the experimental setting and operation process. In the end, the result is demand to attest to the efficiency of the method. The conclusion will be more persuasive if the argument is concluded in this way in scientific argument.

Besides, in normal life, people will connect their living experience to the argument. The argument will be dubious if it reverses the common knowledge. To test the correctness, responsible arguer will encourage people to make use of it in their life, for example, in cooking. To test the smell of one surprising fruit, the argument cannot satisfy the curiosity of people.

In sum, the considerate method to testify an argument not only demands the convincing ability, but also the significant characteristics referring above. Only in this way, an detailed and believable argument can be winnowed.