"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In asserting that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for government, industry or other field is by installing in them a sense of cooperation, rather than competition, the author failed to acknowledge other diverse issues - the fact that incentives and motivations, in societies, must reside as a fundamental key factor - besides communities that have the motivation as a primary factor. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement to the extent that "only" societies with a high spirit is considered, in other cases, as will be elucidated in the points below, it will not be so.

First, it is acceptable as a fact that cooperation leads to teamwork, as a result, teamwork builds higher work efficiency. To elaborate on, societies with a spirit of teamwork are more prosperous, and their young people can collaborate with each other better. Take for instance most of the erudite researchers in my former university, University of Guilan, that were not capable of conducting a simple research with the collaboration of other researchers. they got used to the fact of doing a research on their own, and never thought of reaching a compromise with other students. As a result, the majority of the young studied, when choosing a job or deciding for their career, tend to eschew work environments that entail teamwork and cooperation. Simply put, lack of the appropriate skill to do conduct a research, experiment, or even a job project lead them to failure in the foreseeable future in their vocation. Consequently, it is acceptable that cooperation is mandatory for young people, both in school and graduate study, to become ready for their future profession.

With these examples, it could be argued that cooperation is the only factor necessary for leadership in a government or in an industry. But when viewed holistically, it is not so, because if it were not for the competition, the human kind would not have thrived since cavemen appeared. An example can shed light on my point. Since the dawn of humanity, humankind has been getting into wars, for pieces of lands, or fighting over resources for a better life. Persian empire is a good example, if it were not for the competition and the acquisitiveness of the leader of the time, Darius, the Persian empire would not have gained such a power all over Asia and Europe. When people are being challenged, they have more incentive and motivation for success. furthermore, they become greedy to have a better life, to surmount obstacles in their life. As a result, a competitive spirit helps people to excel others and to outdo their peers, a key factor mandatory for a leadership in all parts of a society from government to industry.

To conclude, based on the aforementioned examples and reason, I agree with the statement to the extent that "only" societies with a great fundamental motivation and high spirit is considered. In other cases, competition is a significant part of leadership in a community.