"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

The claim informs us that a good leader is created by cooperation and not competition. While cooperation is required for achieving mammoth tasks, it is not without competition that talent for completing such tasks is picked up. The claim provides more than required weightage to a sense of cooperation only. Moreover there are many points that need to be discussed that may change one's opinion about the claim.

First and foremost, a good leader is one who leads by example and in order to do that a leader should have the necessary pre-requiste skills in his/her kitty. Every good leader has to go through the hot flames of fire before they can actually take up a position of responsibility. As an example, the current prime minister of Inida, Narendra Modi would not have come up if it were only for sense of cooperation. Stiff competition from opposition parties were met by him at every step of his ladder to the topmost position in India. Moreover, in these days of tough competition, he picked up skills of negotiation, decision making and a plethora of other skills that make him the leader he is.

Secondly, a sense of competition drives an individuals to achieve their goal. They are more focused, time-managed and confident after having been through cut throat competition. An example is getting admissions to prestigious colleges around the world which are know to produce world leaders. These individuals are put through tough competitions in the form of exams like GRE and GMAT. A student who only has a sense of cooperation will be complacent and will not be able to stand a chance and actually reach a leadership role very soon. Adding another example to the above is of Steve Jobs, he had to face fierce competition from Microsoft in order to make his company big. It is not only through sense of cooperation that Apple and Steve Jobs became big but also because of the competition it faced by them from Market that made them the leaders they are.

Finally, Cooperation does lead to a well built team that sticks together and efficiently executes tasks to achieve targets. Without cooperation of the team, a leader cannot be made. Also, people in the team have to assume different roles and often someone has to lead the team from the front. Within the team if there is no competition then individuals become laid back and the final outcome may not create leaders that can stand up to challenges.

In conclusion, competition and cooperation are two crucial elements that should be equally there in sculpting the characteristics of a great leader. Both are like the crucial pillars in the formation of a leader.