The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

There need not to be a my-way-or-highway approach for prompt that requires a much nunaced stance when it comes to very critical roles for functioning of its economy. It would be outright contentious if one is picked from the bowl of two seemingly divergent yet vital characterstics of any successful economy.

If competetion is banned or bridled outright with the young denizens of the society, it would render the society outright less competitive in global stage which would significantly hamper the progress of such a society. Many of the capitalistic nations like America is still the economic super power due to the fact that it requires it denizens to be competitive in the global stage and within the society all without comprimising working harmony of the society; there needs some cooperation when it comes national interest but not at the cost of losing an opportunity in the global stage. This is significantly required for a prosperous society else this would turn into a battleground of survival where competition outright kills everyone without cooperation as happened with collapse of soviet union.

A society just my merely instilling them a sense of cooperation would not achieve what its ought to achieve. Any sucessful leader can be cooperative and competitive at the same time. All the world leaders who are transforming the globe with unprecedented growth is achieving the harmony with competition in the global society. If the world nations not have been just vieing in the global society, the best of mankind inventions would be significantly lacking. Society might be just a harmonious place yet without any luxury which has siginficantly prospered the same society.

Leadership is a very crucial role in any functioning environment where there needs to be a sense of competition aligned with cooperation which determines the outcome of successful leader. Mahatma Gandi during his time in South Africa has negotiated the Ten point finger mandate with cooperation yet being competitive at the same time with the government on the goals, that needs to be achieved for the Indians living in South Africa. On other hand, Malcom who was intially hesistant with Martin Luther King Jr. idealogies turned back on his own notion of seperate America for colored when the civil rights moment achieved with coopertion rather than competition.

Both leaders of the siginificant past showcased that functioning of any successful environment be made without any comprise to one another quality of leadership. So, there needs no comprise on either of the quality to breed a sucessful leader. Everyone grows at their own pace of being competitive and cooperative and the world has still place for them, as leader, if they want to showcase the world as one.