The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The best way for society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry and other fields is instilling a sense of cooperation in them, rather than the sense of competition. When a sense of cooperation is instilled in young minds it increases teamwork efficiency, empathy for others and it allows people to feel the need to make small sacrifices for the greater good. The qualities which we expect to see in good leaders.

First of all, when a sense of cooperation is instilled on a young mind it increases the person's ability to work better in teams. Whether, we speak of societies or the government itself, whether its an industry or whether its business, everyone needs to work in teams to some extent for the sake of prosperity of their respective fields. A leader needs to understand his/her team members well and be able to work with them for the betterment of their organization. When a young person is taught to cooperate at an early age, he/she will eventually learn and understand to work better in teams in future, that in turns, will contribute in making a great and responsible leader out of him.

Secondly, learning to cooperate at an early age also teaches a person to be empathetic to other people's condition. They learn to sacrifice their needs for the greater good and put the goals of prosperity above all. A good leader is always expected to be empathetic of his/her team-workers, and sometimes is required to put the need of organization before his/her personal needs. Instilling the sense of cooperation at an young age can thus be an excellent idea.

Now, some may argue that a sense of competition will drive people to work more efficiently, a quality that is much observed in great leaders. However, the sense of competition is not necessarily the only driving factor behind that. A person can be motivated by many other factors such as empathy, love, patriotism and such. Instilling a sense of competition can cause a person to grow up as self centered. The desire to work efficiently can also be motivated by teammates who work on the same purpose.

In conclusion, it is safe to say that the best way to prepare young people is indeed by instilling a sense of cooperation in them, as it builds up the mentality of teamwork, makes people more empathetic towards others and teaches self sacrifice. Based on the given reason, I strongly stand with the notion that cooperation, and not competition should be instilled in young minds to make great leaders out of them in future.