The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A remarkable ability that separates humans from other animals is their ability to think, to percieve emotions. It is this quality that instills in them a sense of cooperation or competition. Any leader can be termed as the most influential and successful if he/she is better than others. This throws light on the fact that to be better than others, one must compete with them. Healthy competition is imperative for good leadership.

Competition will contemporaries ensures that the leader follows a morally appropriate path. For instance, a leader in a firm cannot embezzle for personal profit because he/she knows that if caught, his/her competitors will be given the post. Hence, the animosity with competitors acts as a driving force for the leader to give his/her best with completer determination.

Moreover, healthy competition gives way to better reforms for the people in a government or better efiiciency for the company. As an example, take the case of India. For years, there has been a stiff competition between the two political parties BJP and Congress. When BJP defeated congress in the lastest polls, the new Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, had the responsibility of introducing reforms better than those by Congress, to gain confidence of people and also to avoid counter charges from the opposition. Inthis case, the opposition acted as a competitor which kept a check on the current government by BJP. Indeed, the positive results can be seen in the latest demonetization reform.

Admittedly, there are times when competition among leaders in a company lacerates the company due to violence ot treachery. Competition sometimes forces people to adopt illegal means. Also, cooperation among people reduces the time and effort. Take the example of a company in which a new leader has to be elected. The employees upon peaceful discussion arrive at a conclusion that a certain employee will be the leader, and they will keep changing the leaders so that everyone gets a fair chance. This certainly saves time and sounds like a peaceful and convinient path. However, the company will never have the most efficient leader in power for a long time. Also, there will be nothing that drives the current leader to perform better. Thus, coorperation fails to bring out the best in the people.

Healthy competition is thus the best for increasing the efficieny of a government, industry or other fields. Instilling in young people the spirit of competition will enhance their alacrity and determination in any particular field. Hence,The urge to be the best and the fruits obtained in the end by achieving the best are the best indicators of success and satisfiction in any field.