The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Cooperation is not natural in human being as competition is, hence society must instill the sense of cooperation in its young individual for various role in life as a leader in different field like government, industry, or other fields.

First the importance of cooperation to be a successful leader in government can be seen, for example elections, off course there is a competition between leaders to win the seat but to give a tough competition and win the election there should be cooperation among the candidate and its supporters, from election speech to distributing pamphlets, can only be successful because of good cooperation, it is the members of the team who make the idea of winning the election possible.

Secondly it can be understand more pellucidly by taking an example of an industry, suppose it is an automobile industry and to launch any new car in the market there is requirement of cooperation among different departments like forging, painting, assembly, interior, etc and that can be efficiently achieved if the leader itself understand the importance of cooperation.

Furthermore, any idea that comes in the mind of an individual require a team effort to make that idea possible, whether it is great wall of China, build to stop the predators, or it is an idea of building a monument in memory of one's wife i.e. The Taj Mahal, it require cooperation among tens of thousands of people to build them. If history can teach us so many success stories and conquering the impossible with cooperation and team effort then at present society should instill a sense of cooperation.

But, skeptics might argue that to remain in any field whether it is government , industry or any other field, competition is also a vital characteristic required in a leader and I too agree with the view but as I mentioned earlier competition is an inherit characteristic but cooperation is not that common.

At last, whatever be the field, either it is government, industry or any other field to become a successful leader one must know the importance of cooperation in winning any competition. Therefore, society should focus on instilling cooperation and the drive for competition will come automatically.