The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

It is inevitable that a sense of cooperation is important for a person to survive in this world since we are not living alone. However, a sense of competition also plays a role in order for a person to become successful. Therefore, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them both a sense of cooperation and competition.

A sense of competition is something that encourage people to work hard and be successful. Without a sense of competition, people will be lassitude and their life will have no advancement. For instance, in civil engineering field, companies or project teams have to compete with their design in order to get a project. If the leader of the teams and companies do not have a sense of competition then they would not work as hard. This attitude can ruin the company since they will not be earning enough revenue for the company. The similar concept goes to sports. With no sense of competition in athletes, competitions such as olympic and world cup will mean nothing. Therefore, a sense of competition also plays a role in person success.

However, a sense of competition alone cannot make a person successful. A sense of cooperation is as important as competition. As I stated above, we are not living alone. We need to know how to share the resources and how to be collaborative. In some cases, a person cannot achieve success from working alone. For example, in civil engineering field, there are projects where working alone is impossible and take a lot of time and effort. For those projects, a group of people have to form a team and work together harmoniously. If one of the team member is not being cooperative and does not share his data with others, it will bring the whole team down. The same thing goes for sports such as soccer, football, and basketball. The players in the team have to play together harmoniously in order to win. Therefore, a sense of cooperation is also as important as a sense of competition.

A person should have both sense of competition and cooperation, and know how to use them accordingly in order to succeed. Even in the realm of politic, the government officials or presidents need to have a sense of competition when they are competing for the position. At the same time, they need to be cooperative with their campaign group in order to beat their opposing team.

In conclusion, a person cannot become a good leader with just a sense of cooperation alone and it also holds true for a sense of competition. The person needs to learn when to be cooperative and when to be competitive accordingly in order to succeed.