The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above statement claims that the best way for a nation or a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government , industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation and not competition. At first blush, this claim seems to be logically apt and there are perhaps many witnesses to the corrigibility of this assertion. Competition, however does not seem to verify the leadership qualities of an individual or society,aptly.

Firstly, it is important for an individual to ensure a well informed public interaction system as it helps in instilling a sense of confidence and soverignity in the individual himself. It also helps in developing an ability to convince others if one has a valid viewpoint. For instance, around the 1930s, through the mid 1940s, Hitler and Nazi had carried out several encounters which marked the occurence of the great Holocaust. Several Jews, Gypsys, homosexuals and other people were made victims of the genocide as they supposedly posed a threat to the Aryan race. This was clearly a result of lack of cooperation and understanding between the common people and Hitler and Nazi. Thus, Cooperation and interaction are essential for a well established government.

Secondly, Democracy also serves as a well carried out extrapolation of the claims of the main argument. For example, president Elanor roosevelt and Abraham Lincoln best exemplify the progress of the democratic government. A very sensational example would be of the Sir Martin Luther King Jr. who rose above all and cooperated with everyone in order to prove a consensus viewpoint to promulgate an idea that would benefit everyone. Additionally, the ban on women suffrage in some of the middle east countries has made those nations be categorised under third world nations and this is clearly due to lack of cooperation between the leaders and the common people.

However, it is true to a certain extent that competition also helps in instilling a sense of leadership in individuals and groups as it forces groups to thrive hard to be the best.For example, in a democratic country the various disparate political parties indulge in rallying in order to obtain votes to win the elections, but sometimes these practices take an improbable turn and lead to corruption and money laundering. the common man is easily made a fool in such cases.