The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The issue given here states that instilling a sense of cooperation in preparing young people will help them become successful leaders in governments, industries and other such fields. I completely agree with the given statement as it is in favor of creating harmony and cooperation and abhors unnecessary competition among the youth.

Consider the case of any government as mentioned in the statement. A government is not an individual entity. It is formed by a group of people who have common interest. They come together for a common purpose: the welfare of the nation and its citizens. Now, a government can only function properly if there is trustful cooperation and harmony among the members. It can only live up to it's promises if the governing members work together supporting each other. But even a little bit of competition in them will lead to a weak government. All the members in the government are leaders of the respective ministries they are handling. But without cooperation in between them, the government will not be able to function properly and ultimately cease to exist.

Next, we have the case of industries. A industry is not led by a single person. There are board members who have to collectively take decisions, even if the industry was started by a single person. Though that person will be leading the board of members, but the industry will only benefit if the members work together, and not work against each other to gain more power. Only a leader with a vision to lead the whole industry together can be successful, and not a person who would only try to work alone. Also, competition in such industries only exists between the peer industries. Only that industry will come out as market leader whose members work better in harmony and cooperation, rather than fight for power among themselves.

On the same note, take the case of sports like football and cricket. If the players of the same team have a sense of competition among themselves like trying score more individual goals and scoring more runs at slower rate to have strike without analyzing the match situation, think about the results the team will get. Not only it will degrade the team performance, it will lead to dissemination of the team in the long run. But a sense of cooperation, a motive for playing for a cause bigger than themselves can only bring favorable results.

On the contrary, one can say that the young people will end up being weak if they are not taught to be competitive. But this is the beauty of cooperation among each other. Not only such a harmonious environment will make an individual strong, it will also make his or her accept the inner weakness and problems. Again, it can be pointed out that not all individuals can work in a group or team. With respect to this, a form of cooperation can teach such people the strengths of working together. After all, a closed fist is stronger than a single finger.

In the end, I would like to state that the society can only prosper if all its members work together for a bigger cause. This will not only generate iconic individual performances but also lead to the advancement of the society as a whole