The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is an essential quality that needs to be developed in the youth of the society. I agree with the fact that leaders should have more cooperative skills than just competing continously.

Firstly, a leader should be cooperative because it helps to improve the team work. Workers and other members of the group will be giving positve suggestion that may lead to the improvement in the organization. The fear, that presenting a new idea would lead to more burden on myself would always prevent me from doing so. But in a cooperative enviornment people are confident that my leader would ponder over the situation and then help us gain the desired output.

Secondly, people obey and listen a cooperative leader or head of department. For example in a hospital where the management is focused on getting profit margins improved and be competitive in the market, the doctors just start resisting to the work overload and the quality of work is affected seriously. At the end the patient would suffer which would cause one to fall out of the competition. On the other hand, having a chairman in university who helps student who helps students figure out their issues, supports them for international competitions and assisits them in going over administrative hurdles would lead to a more energetic response from the students. They would come out better and more competitive than students of other departments.

Moreover, it is human nature that, if he is continously being assigned more tasks and his boss is making him do extra work so as to remain competitive, he would start developing ill will. The discontended worker is not an asset for any organization. Though, the output of the company improves for the time being but eventually it would lead to a major decline. It often leads to the formation of groups within the organization and they start working to get their boss changed or force him to accept their demands.

Though, having the spirit to be the best in market the company, government or industry to remain competitive in their fields but it should be well planned and combined with cooperative feelings.

Thus, having a sense of competition is good for a leader to have, but as a single man cannot construct a building by himself so is the case with a leader. He has to be cooperative while having a sense of improving his organization. Competition is good as far as the employs having fixed salaries don't start getting irritated by its burden. So, we can conclude that competing while being cooperative is the best quality a leader could have.