The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry ,or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

How to prepare young people for leadership in all fields? Many believe that the government should instill in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition. Needless to say, competition and cooperation are both essential elements to modern society; in my view, I agree much about the statement except for some cases.

It is acknowledged by most people that cooperation plays such a substantiate role in today’s society that nearly no one could survive without it. In political area, despite the fact that leaders of different parties compete with each other fiercely at election, after one takes charge, the other is often likely to take side with it especially on critical issues. The international cooperation is also important to the progress of the whole world. During the WW2, countries like America, Britain, the Soviet Union put aside their ideological divergence, combined together to defeat the Nazis. In the Kyoto conference, developed and developing countries come to an agreement to reduce emission of gas which will help prevent the global warming. In business field, the force of cooperation could not be negligible neither, as the famous saying goes,” If you could not defeat your rivalry, then join in them.” It is common to see that two large corporations make contracts about long-term cooperation in order to achieve more profits. From numerous cases in each field, we could easily realize what benefits cooperation could bring to us.

However, sometimes cooperation may lead to unequal results which dampen the enthusiasm. For example, some people deliberately take advantages of others and do not make any real contributions in a cooperation task, but in the end they achieve as much as others, who payed much more than him. These folks are notorious as “free-riders”. On these certain conditions, competition may show its edge. As the evolution theory reveals, in biological circle, species compete with each other for ample resources, and only the most suitable ones could survive. So are the same in many fields in human history, though somewhat cruel ,it is true that the ‘natural selection’ process works well to sweep out those out-dated or useless minds and things, leaving more space for new generation and innovative thoughts.

As everything comes with two sides, too much competence may lead to terrible results too. Athletes sometimes are caught using banned steroids in professional sports in order to boost their own chances of victory, or injury themselves during the fierce matches. Politicians usually waste much money on election which could be better used to improve the social welfare. Thus,whatever field people belong to, it is important for people to recognize various situations and make rational choices. The spirit of cooperation is essential to be educated to the young, as the sense of competition is an innate feature on humane being.

To sum up, although the competition and cooperation seems antithetic, they are in fact two sides of a sword. In order to become a successful leader,young people not only need to compete out others, but master skills of cooperation with others, which demands more of a person’s quality.