The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's world of cut throat competition, where one wrong choice can bring about one's demise, it is important that young people today be instilled with, a sense of competition, similar to the real world they will soon make their careers in.

One phrase that has immortalized Darwin is "the survival of the fittest." This is true in the case of humanity, right from the beginning of its stay in Earth. When dinosaurs went extinct over 65 million years ago, mammals were the predominant species. From the plethora of animals that could have risen to dominate the world, humans have fought their way up the food chain to occupy the place it currently is in. Competition is what brought out the best in us, from the discovery of fire to the invention of the light bulb, a sense of competition has always been an integral part of the human thought process. In fact, at a more fundamental level, humans have the quality of ambition, the burning fire of desire that can't be satiated. In economics, there is a widely said phrase, "there is no such thing as a free lunch. " We earn what we get through our competitive spirit. The same cannot be said about cooperation however.

Cooperation without competition leads to stagnation. For example, if we take the case of a Samsung electronic devices giant. In the absence of competition, the Samsung will not see any reason to promote innovation, leading to a shoestring budget on the research and development side. Competition is the very driving force that brings about innovation. We are able to enjoy cheaper prices and superior quality commodities today due to competition, every company wants more customers to buy their products today. If we take the case of Ford, an automobile manufacturing company which introduced the concept of assembly lines to speed up manufacturing of cars. This was done so as to reduce the cost off manufacturing and at the same time provide consistent, top notch quality cars for the consumer. This in turn ushered in the age of manufacturing which saw many a company take big strides in improvement in quality, quantity and affordable prices for their commodities. Hence the very quality that defines us as humans has led to the innovation we see today and must hold a higher degree of importance than cooperation.

However, at times cooperation also plays an important role in productivity. For example, if members of a team working at Apple, decide to not work together but rather act selfish and not cooperate, the productivity of Apple would see a sharp decline. The quote "Unity is strength" sums this up quite nicely. However, the company can hold seminars and classes to improve cooperation among its employees. The same cannot be taught with regards to competitiveness. Hence it should be taught to young people when they have still not begun their careers.

The quote,"Great men are not born, they are made," sums up the idea that competition is to be favored over cooperation in order for humanity to take greater strides forward and to make future endeavors successful. We must not curb but embrace the inherent trait of ambition that makes us human in order to lead more prosperous and happy lives.