The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The author here is claiming that the youth of the society should be prepared by instilling in them a sense of cooperation rather than competition for leadership in fields of government or industry. For the growth of the society and enhancement of the human resources, I strongly believe in this claim. The society will be benefited the most if the leader is cooperative and understanding rather than avarice and arrogant.

First of all, everyone is taught to have a competitive spirit right from their childhood. In primary and secondary schools, students are taught to compete in various activities and also in academics. This approach may be useful for the students in their early years. But in later years this kind of attitude will not always prove to be fruitful. Some students would be adversely affected by this and would turn out to be intractable and non compliant. If such people went on to become the leaders of the industry or the government, then the society could be in a dilemma.

Secondly regarding the industries, people always prefer the products of the company which is primarily concerned with what people want rather than constantly berating the rival companies. For instance, a soft drink company should focus on the type of drink the people would prefer rather than selling an inferior drink at lower price just to surpass the sales of rival brand. Also the employees prefer a working environment which is more affable. Such industries can only be exist if the leader or founders of the company are cooperative.

On the contrary, sometimes a competitive spirit is also beneficial. Two rival political parties or two rival companies would always try to better than one another and come up with a more beneficial situation which could result in burgeoning of the society. But that kind of strategy is empirical and there is no definite proof that it will improve the conditions of the society.

Further to bolster my argument, the competitive spirit may also put a stress on the environment. To prove themselves the industries or political parties would find new ways to exhaust natural resources. For instance, to make a better car a company might add metal to improve sales. Such strategy would rarefy many resources.

Finally to conclude, the youth of the society are the light of the future and the development of the society depends on them. Thus, it is of crucial importance to teach the youth a sense of the cooperation which would lead to peaceful and compliant leaders.