The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Youths are the building blocks of a Nation. The author is claiming that, for young kids, cooperating with each other should be taught rather than making them compete with one another. I do agree with the claim because if young kids start competing with each other they may go beyond the limits.

leadership in government, industry or other fields like sports are important and the front runner should be able to control the team. This can happen only when all the team members are ready to cooperate with each other.

I would like to come up with an example. I was the captain of the school cricket team. I had to take decisions for the betterment of team which many of the teammates didn't like eventually. Two of them refused to cooperate. This period was painstaking for me. I had to somehow convince them. They were very torpid. Gradually every one came along and we won the tournament. Cooperation can definitely be the key to success.

Another example I would like to come up with is that of United States of America.This country consists of eclectic people. This country is a developed nation because of the cooperation and hard working nature of people in that particular country. The country is 100 years far ahead of some developing nations.I would like to re iterate that 'cooperation can definitely lead to success rather than competing and quarreling among themselves'