The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is a quality that is looked for in people who head governments and industries. Leadership comprises of not only the power to dictate others, but also requires the person to take apt decisions through compromises and cooperations. However, competitiveness is a required quality for the business minds as well. Though necessary, it should be within its own boundaries. Hence, I believe that cooperation is a major skill required by a leader along with a healthy competitive mind.

For an industry to thrive, competitiveness is a much required factor. Consider the field of technology which is well flourished because of the competitiveness in the industry. Each tech-based company tries to best the products released by their competitions. This brings in innovative ideas on which the industry is based on. For a leader in such a high end industry, a lack of competitiveness will only have negative impacts. Here, a leader requires competitive nature rather than compromising nature.

However, a government leader with a competitive nature will be looked down upon. Here, the required skill would be to understand the opposing party and negotiate for a common ground. For example, the presidents of two countries under war should cooperate with each other for the ultimate goal of peace rather than remain at war because of their competitive nature. Here, the skilled looked forward to in a government leader would be cooperation and compromises.

Additionally, it is also required by leaders to have both competitiveness as well as cooperation. A party leader is a person who is to be looked up to. Hence, it is necessary for a leader to be the best in what he does. This can be achieved only by healthy competition. A leader should also be the one to solve disputes among other members. Hence, he should also have a cooperative and compromising nature.

To conclude, the best way to prepare the young for leadership would be to instill cooperation as well as competition along with the knowledge as to when each quality must be used. A leader should never lack cooperation or competition, but the intensity of both should be within boundaries