The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

"One who cannot be a good follower, cannot be a good leader". As the saying explains if you want to be a good leader you must first need to be a good follower. A leader is always respected and loved if he is a cooperative one. The grouchy and disdainful people are always hated. People will always respect you in society if you help them and respect them. This are the qualities of an affable person.

People at young age are amenable and don't really have a opinion of doing anything specific. For example, a student who just completed his 10th grade is not sure what field he is going to pursue. This is the case with most of the students. As a result, they fall for the SHEEP effect. That is, they just blindly follow what others do. Thus, at this age teachers can play a important role by incorporating the sense of cooperation in them.

Most of the time we observe students fighting among themselves in class over trivial topics. Teachers mostly tend to ignore such situations unless things go out of hand. But if teacher would have made sure that the cooperation of students among themselves is good, this would have avoided. Many schools practise cooperation activities through sports period. As we know, no sport can be won without cooperation. Hence, students playing sports together realize the importance of working in team.

Also, in places like industry cooperation is very necessary. In industry roles are distributed and everyone expert in their field is choosen to complete the task. The manager has different role and employees have different. If there is lack of cooperation between manager and employees , the problems cannot be solved effectively. Exemplifying, suppose employees have gone on strike and haughty manager comes to address the employees, if he behaves rudely with them they may consider it as a insult and may not go back to work. But if he was a cooperative manager, the problem would have solved. Hence cooperation is very necessary with industry point of view.

Nonetheless, competition also plays important role in developing the person. A person who is motivated when he sees his colleagues doing well. Suppose a student who is not doing well in studies will feel motivated when he sees his friedns doing well. As a result a sense of competition will develop and he might actually do well. For overcoming the difficulties he might be assisted by his friends or teacher. But again cooperation is necessary for learning from them as well.

Therefore, it is very necessary that cooperation is instillated among students as they can be easily moulded at the young age. A person with good cooperative skills will always be loved and respected in the society.