The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader is someone who inspires us and motivates us. Like Obama said "If it has to be, its up to us". A leader unites people, he has the charismatic effect of bringing consensus. Therefore, the statement is agreeable that young people should be taught cooperation instead of competition to generate future leaders.

While, a person should be independent in his thinking and work, it is also important that one absorbs the knowledge its surrounding have to offer. Problems currently are getting complex with passage of every second, thus we cannot expect a single person to solve it. The only solution is "team work"- Where people with expertise in different areas can collaborate to resolve a matter. That is why we need leaders who understand this give and take perspective, who not only listens to people but actually learn their point of view to reach a consensus.

On contrary, it is true that competition brings out the best in a person. For example, a person will apply twice his strength if he is asked to carry a heavy bag alone than in a group. People can slack back in team, and not work to their full capacity. But, one thing to consider is that bag given in example is getting heavier- our problems are getting too complex to be solved by a single person. A competitive person lacks the skills to trust another person and work in a team, to resolve cumbersome problems of current world.

In conclusion, a proficient leader is visionary and is capable of accepting criticism and feedback as devices to improve further and take everyone along while moving forward. To solve current world's tedious problem we need leaders who can efficiently bring out the best in people and believes in his team to reach on common grounds to solve an issue. Therefore, he must posses the quality of cooperation instead of competition.