The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement claims that in order to foster the leadership of young people, a society need to cultivate a sense of cooperation instead of competition. However, I fully disagree with such a statement, as both cooperation and competition are vital to the development of young people’s future career.

Admittedly, competition sometimes can lead young people to attack or assault their opponents(components). As we all know, some young people are immature and have difficulties in holding their temperament. By teaching them the sense of competition, they may lose themselves in pursuing the success at the cost of other people’s wellbeing. For example, aiming to win the game, a young person who has a strong competitive sense may play tricks on others in school’s sports meeting.

However, competition also plays a significant role in many economic activities. For example, the mobile phone industry has experienced a continuous development in the past several decades. Manufacturers, such as Apple, Samsung, etc, have invested plentitude of funds and human resources to develop the best products to compete with their opponents and attract more consumers. Only in the competitive market, the products can be advanced and customers can reap the benefits of more sophisticated mobile phones. Therefore, obviously, leaders in economic world must emphasise competition which can encourage its employees to pursue perfection and invent innovative products. As to young people, they should be taught to compete with their counterparts, and thereby be well prepared in their future career.

In addition, while it is true that competition makes a great contribution in the economic world, we shall not underestimate the importance of cooperation in the political world. The leadership in a government requires leaders to cooperate with other officials to do the right things. For example, the United States president Obama has pushed the law of health care to be enacted through the relentless cooperation with the congress and senators. Therefore, if a political leader aims to achieve the promise to increase the health care and living standards for the public, he or she must work with other government departments to fulfil the desired objectives.What the young generations can learn from the case is they need to be aware of the significance of cooperation and improve their team work abilities.

In sum, although excessive competition may result in assaults to rivals, competition is important for young people to be more prepared in the economic world. Also, the spirit of cooperation helps political leaders bring more benefits to the public. Therefore, these two senses are equally crucial in nurturing young people’s leadership.