The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by installing in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

Preparing young people for team work is the best way for a nation to prepare its teenagers for leadership. Numerous positive points can be considered to support this statement; however, this assertion can be rejected by looking at it from another point of view. In what follows, I am going to discuss this issue from both angles.

To begin with, it is believed that being able to work in a team is more important than competing others because although cooperation causes that people help each other to achieve a goal by sharing their ideas, competition causes people keep their ideas secret. It helps to think of students of a university. If these students have a sense of cooperation, they will help each other in different courses; hence, they will achieve more successes; by contrast, if students have a sense of competition, they would not help others, and even they might mislead others in order to defer others achievements.

On the other hand, it is claimed that competition among the members of a society causes people try harder and be more creative to absorb others respect and attention. For instance, a university scholarship which is confirmed to the best student causes students attempt harder and use their time wisely.

As for my point of view, I should say that I lodge myself somewhere between two ideas. In fact, what is missing in these viewpoints is that not only the cooperation and competition are not contradict, but also they can supplement each other. As far as people cooperate, a supervisor can check the team and commend the person who works better in the team, or one who can lead the group better; therefore, they learn how to cooperate while competing with others.

To sum up, no one can deny the plus points of cooperation. Besides, the merits of competition cannot be rejected; however, I personally agree with installing both of them in teenagers in order to prepare high quality leaders, since it seems more advantageous.