The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

A body cannot dance well till all the parts of the body move in harmony. Dont you agree? Yes, cooperation is a fundamental thing which can make all systems run to pinnacle and produce great results. But one that controls the parts of the body, to synchronize them, is the cerebral organ- the brain, of a person. So there always has to a leader that ensures that the output of the system is always best. So I somewhat agree to the statement made that the youth must be instilled by a sense of cooperation than competition.

First of all, in any field, cooperation between the people involved is very necessary to bring out the best result from it. And the one who makes this possible is the leader of that group. The leader’s duty is to elicit the best from the sytem. So a good leader is a one who will have skills and understanding of cooperation. Like, the leader of a automobile industry, should be the one that can manage a good flow and relation from the lowest workers to the design people.

Further more, when a leader has a sense of competition in him, he will be restricted only to try and beat the others in vie. Hence he will try to suppress the opponents by negative actions on their ideas, and not concentrate on getting his company above by fresh and original ideas. Thus, leaders with competitive skills often tend to play negatively than positively.

However, a limited amount of competition is necessary. This helps to keep the feeling to excel over the others always on. And this can lead to wonders at time. Also, by competitive spirit, one can recognize the best among the rest. Hence, a good leader should be also competitive to keep moving and succeeding ahead.

Conclusively, I feel that, competition does play an important role in provoking new ideas and better innovations, but cooperation plays the higher role to make the ideas come true. Hence, the youth must be brought up in a competitive environment, which brings the best out of them, and when they are given the responsibility of a leader, they must only work on cooperation to succeed.