The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation is the atttitude of working together with the people fo the group keeping in ming the concerns of others while competition is an inherent characteristic of human beings to move ahead of their fellow colleagues by any means. Life has become a ratrace and everyone wants to be at the zenith of the success without much hardwork, without being concerned about fellow colleagues concerns.

Competitve attititude can be seen in human beings right from the childhood till any phase of life.In schools,pupils compete to score the highest marks , then in colleges , students compete to get the placements with the highest package and in industries, employees compete to get promoted as fast as possible. I do not say that competitive attitude is detrimental to success, but it is something which is already there in us since birth. There is no need to inculcate it. Yet the the quality of cooperating with others is something to be taught to citizens of a society so as to make that society a civilized , sustainable one.

History is evident that the greatest ideas in the world evolved when the people had that feeling of competition to stand out amongst others, be it industry or science or medicine. Bill gates, The ex- CEO of the technology giant, Microsoft had that wonderful idea because of that competition but that idea would not have been successful without the cooperation of so may engineers and techocrats working for the Microsoft. Cooperating with the subordiantes is the prerequisite to be a successful leader. A leader who is least concerned about his followers will soon be thrown out of his post. Even in case of stable govenments, the leaders of the nation has to cooperate with the people of the nation to be in power otherwise the power of people can pull them down from the post.

Cooperation is a way in which people get united for a goal and work hand in hand supporting others, whereas in competition , generally an individual or a single entity or organisaiton has to fight against the whole world which definetely weakens him in some sense. The person might get immediate success but that is fleeting. Cooperation makes the roots of that success strong and nourishes it. Taking example of university research, if students cooperate, they might lead to new invention or discovery with greater success and less work per individual since all will be working together whereas going by the attitude of competitiveness, they might resort to wrong means to fulfill their wishes.Take the example of a surgical operation, its not just the skill of the doctor which makes the operation successful but its the combined work of so many people like nurses, assistants etc. which make this possible. Similary in case of a band performance, its not the singer alone which makes the musical performance an exhilerating one but its the amalgamation of a variety of instruments and their players which contribute to make a beautiful song.

Thus , keeping the above mentioned examples in mind, I say that cooperative attitude need to instilled among people so that the new ideas generated by competitve attitude can take some solid form and lead to the apex of the success. Competitve attitude is there in humans but it should be strictured so that it is not a hindrance to the overall growth and prospertity of any organisation.