Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership

Whether managing a business or leading a country, one can easily get seduced by amount of power he has, which can result in different types of misuses. The author of this recommendation states that it is necessary to shift leaders every 5 years, but if someone is excelling on his position, there is really no need to replace him. The new leader would not know all the rules of the game (whatever that game is – politics, business or education), so it would take some time for him to learn his new role, which could be counter productive. Furthermore, if the current manager has shown great results in the past, he should stick to what he is doing best. That would benefit the whole community. Lastly, there is no reason for someone who already has strong connections with his workers or people to be succeeded by a stranger just because he passed the five year deadline.

When Barack Obama rose into power, he did not know everything he knows today. It took several years for him to embrace his new role as a president of the United States, which can be seen from some wrong moves he made in the beginning. Thanks to democratic elections, he remained the leader for two consecutive terms and made some important decisions close to the end of his second term, like approving the same sex marriage. This example is showing that becoming a good manager requires time, thus managers should not be changing every now and then.

Secondly, if a boss has shown that he is responsible and possesses an expert level of knowledge and experience, it is better for a company to let him do his job for as long as he can. Marko Stjepanovic, chief editor of Serbian newspaper Blic has managed to double the number of monthly visitors of Blic news website during his first five years on that position. That is why owners of the company decided to trust him with a second and third term. They were not wrong. In the meantime, thanks to Marko’s decisions and actions, Blic became the leading media in the country. It is clear that letting Marko stay was a right thing to do.

Perhaps the best example to illustrate why those in power should not step down after five years is the one of a school principal. Say a principal is in charge for the last 15 years. That means he already knows the school curriculum, strengths and weaknesses of teachers and has built strong connections with parents and the rest of community. Replacing him with a new principal after half of a decade would mean that the principal would have to spend much time for earning people’s trust.

Considering all stated, it is clear that leaders should stay in power even after exceeding the five year limit. Some could argue that this praxis leads to totalitarianism, but that can be easily surpassed with elections or yearly revisions of manager’s professional accomplishments.