Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement tries to assert that the leaders in any field should hand down their responsibility to new leaders after a certain period of time. While it may be true that having new leaders after some interval of time might revitalize the system, we also might need to compromise the experience and in many cases the ability to run the system if we are strict about the term of service. Thus, I do not completely agree with the claim and the reason.

First of all, leaders who have worked for a considerable amount of time will have the experience of conducting the system. This can be a key attribute because in every field past experiences can be important while making decisions. For instance, in politics, leaders who have worked with the people and with the party will know what the people and the party demand, and therefore they will act accordingly. Handing the leadership to fledgling leaders who are unaware of the political systems of the country or of their party might lead to situations where they are not able to make judicious decisions simply because they have not seen or experienced something similar in the past. Therefore, we will have to compromise on experience if we make a rule of changing the leaders in five years.

Moreover, the incoming leaders might lack not just the experience but the ability itself to lead or perform. There will be many situations where the incoming generation will just not be ready to take the leadership. For instance, recently, the English soccer team which is a highly rated team in soccer struggled and lost against Iceland, a low ranked team, in a major soccer tournament mainly because the English coach was obsessed with giving chances to youngsters. In order to do so, he left out adroit players who were in their thirties and brought in less skillful players in their twenties. From this example, making age or term of service an obligatory criteria, a field can suffer from lack of skillful leaders.

However, I do accede to the statement that any field needs rejuvenation after certain time. For instance, many countries where leaders enjoy lifetime positions suffer politically. In many occasions, democratically elected officials become dictators if there is no system to expel them from their position. In addition to it, companies which are struggling need new leadership to have have a chance to change their fortunes. Thus, changing leadership might be necessary at many occasions. However, the time to change the leadership has to be well chosen. It needs to be ensured that new leaders have gained enough expertise and experience to take the leadership role. Replacing a leader just because he/she has served for five years might just be a headlong decision.

At length, the leadership in any field needs replacement after certain time in order to ensure that new ideas are welcomed and that leaders do not start an autocracy in the system. But, it needs to be made sure that new leaders have good experience and the abilities to take the responsibility.