Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is important that new leadership eventually supplants the old ones. The new ones are aquainted with up to date knowledge and they have the necessary hunger and enthusiasm to contribute. Also, allocating a specific timeline for someone's tenure stir ups the incumbent to do as much work as possible so that he/she will have a mark left at the end of the tenure. Therefore, I agree with the fact that there should be a system in which the new leadership replaces the old one.

As the world continuously changes, the required knowledge to perform tasks also change. People who had an antiquated education will not be able to do the tasks required by the present world. For example, someone who never had the education of computers will surely not be able to become a head in a present business company because computers have come to be an extremely imperative part in the business world today. While it is true that the old leaders can work to be up to date with the trades of the new world, keeping up with everything is merely not possible, and eventually there will be a need of someone who has been specifically prepared to face the new world challenges. Thus, it is critical that the new generation replaces the old one.

Keeping abreast of the newer things is particulary difficult for a long-time incumbent because they will not have the energy and desire required to do so. If someone remains in a position for a long time, the initail excitement of taking a position will soon die and then the necessary fervor to do exceptional tasks will never be there. When there is a regular change in the power, there will be a continuous influx of energy, and thus, there will be continuous effort put in to do great works. Along with it, if there is a specified stint for someone to do their job, they will be motivated to leave their mark during their stint. Hence, they will continue to work as much as they can within their specified period in power, and eventually, the overall period will be highly productive.

The only part of the claim that I tend to disagree with is the specific time period of five years that is mentioned in the claim. The reason provided does nothing to justify why the power should change specifically in 5 years, and I, too, do not see a reason why it should change exactly in 5 years. There can be positions where there are merley not enough qualified people who can take over the incumbents. In this case it can be detrimental by being stubborn about 5 years and replacing a qualified incumbent with someone unqualified. Hence, there should actually be a method to determine the rate at which a truly qualified individual is produced to lead a field and that field should apply that particular rate to change the poeple in power. Therefore, it should not be that we stick with the dogma of five years but rather there should be a time-period specified for each field according to the availability of competent individuals in that field.