Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Those in power have a responsibility to guide and maneuver their organization through both rough times and burgeoning ones. In doing so, a leader must have foresight and vision to accomplish their goals, which can sometimes take a great deal of time. Therefore, a great leader, one who can effectively guide a group of followers to accomplish certain goals in an efficient and benevolent manner, should be allowed to lead for longer than five years.

Proponents of the idea that those in power should step down after five years, be it business, politics, education, or government, may initially have bad leaders come to mind. They argue that ruthless dictators such as Hitler, poor CEOs that move an organization into insolvency, and tenured principals who have become complacent in their roles should be replaced. In fact, if those in power would step down after a certain period of time, any poor leadership can quickly be mitigated by the election of a new power, one who can correct the errors of their predecessor. In addition, with different leadership, a higher percentage of the population will feel represented since each new leader may have different points of views, agendas, and beliefs. With a system of checks and balances, such as the one in place for the US government, authorities can better serve the population by having more motivation to finish their tasks quickly while they are still in office.

However, there are instances of a great leader, such as Bill Gates or Franklin D. Roosevelt, who led their company or country to success. Being a wonderful leader requires the foresight of a visionary, which then later on translates into action. Within a period of five years, there is no guarantee that the entire plan can be completed in an efficacious manner. One instance that quickly comes to mind is Abraham Lincoln, who fought to free America from the grips of slavery. It is quite fathomable that had his untimely assassination not occurred, segregation within parts of the country, especially in the South, would have ceased much earlier and not lingered well into the 20th century.

In addressing the issue of having a poor leader refusing to give up power, the organization should have a system of removing the leader, but only if he or she is not performing their duty. The importance of having power distributed throughout the company or government is essential in keeping their chief in check. However, it should not be mandatory for individuals in power to step down, especially if they are completing their mission in a timely manner that is supported by others in their organization. In fact, it should be the responsibility of the people who have less power to wisely choose a great leader.

A leader’s goal is to provide a mission and vision for others under them to follow. It is imperative that they complete the goals of the organization in a thorough and effective manner, which can take longer than five years. As a result, although a leader can have the option to step down, it should not be mandatory for them to do so after a certain time frame.