Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

There are several reasons why those in power across all fields, including business, politics, education, and government, should not be required to step down after five years. The primary responsibility of a leader is to guide and maneuver their organization through both rough times and burgeoning ones. In doing so, he or she must have foresight and vision to accomplish goals, which often require more than five years to complete. In addition, it can be quite costly to change leaders frequently. Therefore, a great leader, one who can effectively guide a group of followers to accomplish certain goals in an efficient and benevolent manner, should be allowed to lead for longer than five years.

Firstly, leaders of business, politics, education, and government face extremely daunting tasks that may take decades to solve. Integral to their success is to have a foresight of a visionary, that can later on be translated into action over a period of time. Within five years, there is no guarantee that their entire plan can be completed in an efficacious manner. One instance that quickly comes to mind is Abraham Lincoln, who fought to free America from the grips of slavery. It is quite fathomable that had his untimely assassination not occurred, segregation within parts of the country, especially in the South, would have ceased much earlier and not lingered well into the 20th century.

Secondly, the costs of replacing a leader can be quite high. Whenever a new leader steps in and fills the role of their predecessor, there is a transitionary period that the organization faces, which limits productivity. For example, once a new President of the United States is elected, he typically replaces many of the former Cabinet members with his own counsel. This process can last for several weeks or even months and be prioritized over other pressing issues facing the nation. Therefore frequent changes of leadership result in higher financial and opportunity costs for the organization as a whole.

Proponents of the notion that those in power should step down after five years, be it business, politics, education, or government, can cite examples of poor leadership. They argue that ruthless dictators such as Hitler, poor CEOs that move an organization into insolvency, and tenured principals who have become complacent in their roles should be replaced. In fact, if those in power were displaced after five years, their actions would quickly be mitigated by the election of a new power - one who can correct the errors of their predecessor. However, this quandary can be solved without requiring leaders to step down after five years simply by providing the organization the power to impeach the leader if he or she is not performing up to the standard. While this power can be exercised at any time, it should only be used whenever the chief is leading poorly. For effective leaders, it should not be mandatory for them to step down, especially if they are completing their mission in a timely manner that is supported by others in their organization.

In conclusion, a leader’s goal is to provide a mission and vision for others under them to follow. It is imperative that they complete the goals of the organization in a thorough and effective manner, which can take longer than five years. Additionally, the costs associated with transitioning leadership can be quite high. Ideally, an organization would desire to mitigate these costs by reducing the frequency of establishing a new power. Given the aforementioned reasons, it should not be mandatory for a leader to step down after five years.