Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

In his statement, the author claims that people should mistrust any piece of information which is referred to as a fact, since it would most likely turn out to be false in the future. I feel that the reason given behind this statement is a bit far-fetched and extreme to the point that it seems overly generalized. Facts, on the other hand serve a dual purpose of arousing curiosity and also are catalysts of their own fallacy.

The importance of facts could be well understood if we scrutinize how science, discoveries and inventions in particular, works. One of the common approach people take while deriving formulas and theories is that to state what a scientist feels to be true as a fact, and then performing various tests and experiments to test for the validity of that theory. After rigorous experiments and after standing the tests of scrutiny and meticulous inspection does a fact qualify as a empirical theory, corroborated by various results that bolster it's existence. Had we considered facts to be trivial and lacking any true significance, and would have discarded and disrespected its existence, we would not have been so scientifically sound as we are today. For example the fact that light is a wave was well accepted and corroborated by tests , but with the advent of Einsteinian physics,the theory particle nature of light gained more traction and is hence universally accepted now.

Secondly, many facts have a tendency to change with the passage of time. Mutability is intrinsic to them, but also the quality of being immensely valuable to the contemporaries. For example, let us take the example of a well known fact that a year has 4 major climates. We all know that is fact is temporary and is subjected to changes in the future. But the fact that this fact would no longer be valid in the future doesn't undermine it's authenticity in the current scenario. Hence we must acknowledge the mutable nature of certain facts and accept them accordingly.

On the other hand, this does not mean that we should accept any fact presented to us and turn a blind eye towards it's drawbacks, loopholes, authenticity or veracity. We must always inculcate an attitude for verifying the foundations of a fact exhaustively and only after painstakingly weighing every variable that could mark it's significance that we must value a fact as one. For example, media canards which generally are claimed to be true turns out to be apocryphal most of the times as they are most likely disseminated for increasing the viewership of a media channel.

Hence, we can conclude that not only discarding every fact as to-be-inaccurate in the future is unfruitful, but it also hampers the curiosity and eagerness to explore the unknown which has kept the mankind thriving for so long. But only after careful inspection should we consider a statement as a fact.