Claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Democracy can be defined as a form of government of the people, by the people and for the people. With the emergence of people expressing their opinions openly in blogs, it has in a way enhanced the role of the people in the democracy to many folds. It has given them the power to express their opinions and also be cognizant to the opinions of various other people, making them a more aware citizen and critical in the decision making process of the country. Hence, the blogs are more likely to strengthen the quality of political discourse because unlike the media, it is free for any constraint that could thwart the mass from making sensible political decisions.

Before the advent of blogs and various social sites, the scenario after a common man read news was to express his views for or against the issue to his family and friends around him. Even if he wished to convey his thoughts or ideas to a larger mass he was unable to do so which meant it was only a one way communication. With the advent of blogs, the common people are able to opine their opinions more clearly to a wider public and hence making a two way communication. They feel that now able to express their opinions and also read other people's opinion and make better political decisions than ever before.

Media was once believed to possess the power of being a rabble- rouser and thus, had a strong hold on the political decisions of the country. There were many scandals in which media tycoons were caught in scandals which involved huge bribes from certain political leaders to hide certain issues that would affect the image of the party in the eyes of the voters. A survey surmised that people who read a particular newspaper only were more likely to vote for a certain political party and held firm beliefs against the other party. In a way, media could stir an entire pool of people to vote for a certain party by only making them aware about the positive side of the party, in a way tinting the truth. Hence, the proponents of media believe that the blogs will eventually weaken the quality of political discourse. Since people are now exposed to a wide range of opinions and can eventually form their own opinion. And upon once doing that, they also can persuade many others to see the way they perceive the political situation, and thus it can help to strengthen the political discourse of the country by making the democracy work in a more efficient manner.

Journalism is believed to be an art possessed by only the most knowledgeable people, who have a great command over their language skills. The quality of very fine eloquent articles have become rare in this blog era because everyone, even the person who is a novice in a particular language, is able to express his/ her idea. Also, the journalists are liable to some regulations of the company they work for and would in no way write any article that mar the reputation of their company by impairing the truth. While anonymous bloggers can express content which is entirely bogus or at times intended to be gender biased or racially discriminating as they have no threat of ever being identified. Henceforth, in this vast ocean of varied blogs and articles it has become very rare to find an unbiased eloquent piece.

In this era of modernization, the readers have to be wise enough to form one's opinion from a wide range of opinions that he/she is exposed to and decide what is good for the country as a whole before making a decision to vote for a particular party and his/her vote would be pivotal in deciding the government for the coming four years.