Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Claim made by the author is that though young people often receive the advise to "follow your dreams", more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. I agree with claim as people might have impragmatic dreams which are just impossible to achieve. So, people should pick worthy goals which are pragmatic.

For instance, son of a very big super star like Amitabh Bachan might have a dream to become like his father and know as the next Amitabh Bachan. However, we all have seen his movies that he is not even close to the versatility that his father has. He got disillusioned after giving flop movies one after another. It would be good if he would have realized his own talent as an individual and built his career in it. Similarly, a person would be so fascinated by the glamour world that he or she might dream to be the next Mr or Miss World. However, lack of looks and body would not be fit enough to make this dream come true. instead, he they might have set goal to excel in the glamour field by acting or fashion designing which would be far more practical.

Reason given by the author is that many people's dreams are inherently selfish, which is true. In our society it is observed that a doctor's son will be a doctor and an engineer's son is an engineer. In such cases, son's talent is considered inconsequential. By default his parents set his career to be what they had persuaded irrespective of their's son's talent. Also, there are cases where son things that my father was a successful business man so am I. And he ends up losing big time, empire built by his father gets perished just by this attitude of inherent dream.

In support of this here is a fine example. Dhirubhai Ambani have built empire out of his business skills, where as his son could not take it forwards and ended up into loss. There are good examples where in people followed their pragmatic dreams and succeeded in life. one example is Bill gates. He did not his company to his son. He knew his son is not as good technically as he was. rather he relegated the position of Chief executive officer to Satya Nadela, who Bill Gates analysed to be best fit. hence, today Microsoft is in safe hand.

Thus, I would like to conclude my argument in agreement with the statement that young people often receive the advice to "follow their dreams", more emphasis should be given on picking the worthy goals.