Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

A worthy quote says "Write down your future but make sure to use a pencil". Oftn people when receive the advice of following their dream and giving everything to achive it, they fail to notice the point that the what is that dream. How that dream will be pciked and whether that dream is appropos for them or not. All these questions never recive proper elucidation. I agree to the claim here which points out, more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals. But I disagree to the reason to some extent.

Following one's dream is definitely the cardinal rule of every human being. But it's paramount that before following the dream, one must choose a worthy dream for following. People get so engrossed to the fact that, they are following their dream, they forget to evaluate the very begining of their dream. A dream which is not fit for oneself, can never give the satisfaction of achieving it. For example, had the legendary batsman Don Bradman or Sachin Tendulkar, choosen a goal other than cricket, would the world have been able to experience their legendary. We would have missed the gem of cricket, had their goals be gone wrong. And people in early age, find it very difficult a choose a goal to follow. So considerable amount of effor must be placed on picking the goals as per one's passion, caliber and interest.

Now coming to the reason of the claim, which says, many people's dreams are inherently selfish. Though, the claim is true to some extent, but it's not completely true. Most of the times when one person chooses a goal, that decision is hugely inspired by his/her surroundings, family, upbringings, which might not be that great. And in turn, the person may end up choosing an easier dream rather than choosing as per his maximum achieving capacity. Sometimes people tend to underestimate or even overestimate themselves and end up choosing a not so great goal.

But in support of the reason, there are some instances, where the dreams choosen by some people are inherently selfish. Some times in the process of fulfilling the expectation of their parents, relatives, friends or family, people end up making their parents or family's dream as their own. But the end result sometime is catastrophic.

So, it's definite that every person must follow theor dream and must be restless till it's not achieved. But before that, conscious effor must be placed to choose a dream or goal of high morale value and which is inline.