Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Culture traditions, physical and non-physical, are the cherished heritage of both major cities and their nation, the ongoing, distinctive signatures of their individuality, exhibiting their unique fascination which acts as an extremely important economic resources in modern times. For this reason, it is necessary for government to offer funds to preserve these ancient, powerful, profound assets, which, in turn, thrive these cities, especially in and after their maturity.

National culture traditions, indeed, are preserved and generated in major cities, but this is not always the case, because some of them are being destroyed by urbanization and globalization. Moreover, as is known, folk arts emerges and remains alive in rural areas, a number of historic buildings are also kept perfect in small towns, all of which constitutes national cultural heritage.

Traditional culture in major cities like antiquities, relics tells about their history to attract people at home and abroad to visit, study them each year, as an important resource in tourism and in archaeology. Located in Beijing, Forbidden City, one of the most complete and perfect architectures in the world, experiences the vicissitudes of dynasties and survives from wars, keeping thousands of various antiques, which really tells people the Chinese history about its structure, design, far-reaching cultural connotation, and the like. Another example is St. Peter's Basilica in Rome, the entire interior of which is richly ornamented with marble pillars full of various patterns, reliefs covered with graphic figures, exquisite sculptures, and gilding, symbols of the sublime of the beautiful and the mystery of religion, and the exterior of which is St. Peter's Piazza with obelisk the prominent landmark known as witness. All of them are extremely valuable in cities' tourism resource. Aren't they worthy of governments' support either of policy or of fund?

Non-physical traditional culture like music, film, colored drawings brings cities about fame and business, such as Fashion City(Paris, France), Music City(Vienna Austria), Film Festival City(Cannes France), Porcelain Town(Jingdezhen, China). Cannes International Film Festival annually attracts a large number of filmmakers, directors, actors, businessmen all around the world to exhibit, exchange, and sell their works, which directly raises the popularity of Cannes in the globe and manufactures commercial opportunities. Furthermore, various kinds of activities concerning cultural traditions in major cities should be regularly organized, such as lectures on local conventions, family traditions, values ancestors admire, in this way that the spirit of these cities has been handed down to its people, guiding the mode of their thought and behavior. Shouldn't the governments financially support such activities to be held?

Change is crucial for culture traditions in the context of globalization in order to meet people's diverse needs. Major cities in a nation usually are big melting pots, in which people have different values, customs, beliefs, religions, and so on. First, diet culture is the characteristic. In Shanghai, southern people eat rice while northern people have noodles, Americans like drinking coffee while Chinese prefer tea, and now these foods have been incorporating the lifestyle of local people, and more cuisines can be supplied in restaurants to cater for people' taste. Second, Lingua Franca and local language are mixed to widely use, convenient for people to communicate and be engaged in business activities. In addition, importantly, innovation is very crucial for traditional culture in modern times. For instance, Errenzhuan added with eastern and western elements, has been rooted in such urban areas as Changchun, Shenyang, Harbin, now disseminating the country and the world by media and commercial performance, and increasing these cities' wealth for its future progress.

In conclusion, national traditional culture generates and remains alive in all over the country, and with the support of the governments will continue to contribute to the sustainability and prosperity of major cities.